So, we were told to use I-movie software to make a short news style report about a topic of our choice. This was met with rather warm enthusiasm as students suddenly rushed off to come up with crazy schemes and news stories to amuse their classmates. Our group decided to parody a class inside joke in which one member of our group was the elusive Lynn-fish, which Alberta was introducing laws to protect. Of course, in the spirit of good comedy the field reporter Skeeter Boomhower sent the camera feed back to the studio to find the news anchor (played by myself) eating a Lynn-fish.

All in all I think we had a really fun time filming, and editing the video to polish it up for our classmates. I think it was so very important that we knew our work would be published to classmates, as it caused us to really try and make quality videos that were funny and well constructed. While the freedom of topic was really fun, I can imagine it would be tricky to actually meet any class outcomes realistically without giving some structure to the assignment. If I were to use this in my class I would have to narrow the topic in on a learning objective, but I would leave enough creative freedom to allow students some fun and ownership of the process.

I feel like there is a delicate balance where the more freedom students get the further from the objectives they can get, going off on tangents and creative ideas.. On the flips side, with no freedom students will not get nearly as much enjoyment in constructing the project and will not be able to take any personal ownership of it. All things considered I would certainly use something like this in my class as it is a great activity that kids will have a lot of fun with and reinforce concepts. If anything I would say this would be best used as a formative assessment to gauge student understanding. This way some direction could be given, but students will still have the freedom to make each pre



Leave a Reply.